(LXF70 DVD) Should I use Fedora Core 4 or Debian?

Comments, suggestions and questions about Linux Format magazine and the coverdiscs

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

(LXF70 DVD) Should I use Fedora Core 4 or Debian?

Postby phorneker » Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:50 am

I am looking forward to getting LXF70, which contains two distributions I wish to try out.

I have been using Red Hat/Fedora Core distributions since December 1998 (starting with Red Hat 5.0), and have gotten Fedora Core 3 to run on my Compaq/HP Deskpro EP/SB series machine fairly well.

This machine has a 20GB hard drive, 128MB system RAM, Voodoo 3 video card, a Lite-On DVD-ROM, a HP CD Writer+ 8200, and connected to it are a HP PSC1110, Deskjet 656C, and Epson Stylus Color 660 printers.

I got Fedora Core 3 running well by enabling 32-bit disk access on the hard drive, and by configuring the boot process to run only what I need.

Issues I have with the distros are:

1. Should I try Fedora Core 4 on this machine, or should I use the Debian 3.1 instead?

2. The HPLIP software needed to utilize the PSC1110 is compiled from source, as is the Bluefish HTML editor, Digikam, and Kile (LaTeX editor). Do these distributions provide what I need to successfully compile these packages from source?

3. Since the LXF70 is double-sided, is there going to be a problem reading the DVD?
phorneker

RE: (LXF70 DVD) Should I use Fedora Core 4 or Debian?

Postby nelz » Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:26 am

1. No. It's not an either/or choice, unless drive space is limited. why not install both and see which you prefer.

2. Yes, but I'd be surprised if they don't supply packages for most, if not all, of what you need.

3. Only if you forget to turn it over :)
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin

Postby AndyMerrall » Mon Aug 22, 2005 1:43 pm