Homeplug

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Homeplug

Postby mugstar » Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:25 pm

Was wondering if anyone has any experience of homeplug devices or recommendations for particular hardware? The last topic on the subject was over two years ago ,,,
mugstar
LXF regular

RE: Homeplug

Postby towy71 » Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:32 pm

I have a friend who uses them, he just plugs the computer in and it works :D
still looking for that door into summer
towy71

RE: Homeplug

Postby RedWillow » Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:52 pm

I've got the 85Mbps versions of the Devolo Homeplugs. As towy71 says, you just plug 'em in and they work. I have no experience of the other makes, but I'm happy with the Devolos.

And if you're super-paranoid, you can flash the Devolo ones with a passphrase which encrypts the data stream. The nice thing about the Devolos is that they come with a Linux terminal utility for setting the passwords and checking the data speeds. You have to compile the utility yourself, but you just have to support a company that actually bothers to provide Linux configuration software. :wink:

Edit: and if you lose the CD, you can download the software from their site. How about that? :)
RedWillow
LXF regular

Postby mugstar » Sun Dec 14, 2008 11:36 pm

I'm looking at these ... mainly 'cos I am super-paranoid and they have the best encryption as well as being a good price. Any thoughts?
mugstar
LXF regular

Postby ollie » Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:18 am

You only have to look at the specifications for the alarm bells to start ringing:
Software Type - Drivers & Utilities

System Requirements - OS Required
Microsoft Windows 2000 / XP
Microsoft Windows Server 2003

The question to ask is, "Does the encryption use the drivers or utilities that are only written for Windows?"
ollie

Postby roseway » Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:30 am