Wake on LAN remotely

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Wake on LAN remotely

Postby pk_fox » Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:43 pm

Hello All, I've searched these forums and the Web but cannot find a satisfactory answer to my problem ( no jibes please ! ). My home machine ( FC2 ) has an onboard ethernet card ( VIA VT6102 ) with wake on lan enabled in the bios and sits behind a Linksys router with port forwarding setup for the machine I wish to "wake". Try as I might I cannot wake it up either remotely or from my local lan, I've tried etherwake , wol and various web based tools all to no avail, has anyone had any luck with this

regards


Pete
User avatar
pk_fox
LXF regular
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

RE: Wake on LAN remotely

Postby linuxgirlie » Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:12 pm

For Karoshi we use WakeLan, but this we just use for the local network not though a router....
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

RE: Wake on LAN remotely

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:44 pm

Are you sure WOL is actually working on the box? The first thing I would check is that it works locally, without going through the router etc - can you check it with a laptop and a crossover cable?
Guest
 

Postby pk_fox » Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:58 am

thanks I'll try it later

regards

Pete Kane
User avatar
pk_fox
LXF regular
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:38 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Postby lala » Fri Apr 15, 2005 7:36 pm

If I understand things correctly, Wake on LAN is working at the ethernet layer and therefore the wake on lan frame is not forwarded through a router which makes decisions at the IP layer. Therefore, your machines need to be on the same subnet for this to work.
lala
 


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests