Mobile Broadband (UK)

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Mobile Broadband (UK)

Postby tazoftazmania » Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:08 pm

Hi,
Does anyone have any experience of using any of the new mobile broadband dongles that are offered by the likes of Vodaphone and 3?
I've tried contacting the various suppliers but get passed from pillar to post and can get no definitive answer. It looks like even if they do work they won't support you using Linux (quel surprise).

I'm not particularly keen on forking out for an 18 month contract to find it's not compatible.

I've got an Asus EeePC900 running the Xandros distro it came with.
P.S. I'm brand new to Linux and enjoying the experience so far...
tazoftazmania

RE: Mobile Broadband (UK)

Postby towy71 » Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:22 pm

I have seen these dongles working with both the Eeepc and other laptops running different versions of Linux,
I found this look at third post down
still looking for that door into summer
towy71

Postby tazoftazmania » Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:33 pm

Thanks for the link towy :)
tazoftazmania

Postby tazoftazmania » Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:45 am

For information:

I tried using the Pay-As-You- Go option from 3 (£49 for the modem + £10 top up which lasts a month before it expires) and successfully managed to connect without any issues. There is no automatic install of software like you get if you have XP but using the Network Connection option on the desktop it was simple enough to set up.