Suse 9.2 64 bit from HD install - cant mount hda1-3 vfat

Comments, suggestions and questions about Linux Format magazine and the coverdiscs

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Suse 9.2 64 bit from HD install - cant mount hda1-3 vfat

Postby foekker » Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:35 am

Hello again.

I have found the magazine (see prev thread) and done what it says there. I've put all the files mentioned (boot, media.1 and x86_64 catalogs + all root files on DVD) in c:\suse\.

In the magazine it says I should hit F3 and and change to Harddisk and then run the installation and the installation program will find the files itself. It doesn't, instead it says so and launches the manual install. There I can go and start the installation and select harddisk as source media, and it lists three drives: hda1 hda2 hda3 all with vfat filesystem. Is that correct? I'm running XP and ntfs.. Well, anyhow It complaints that it can't mount any of the drives, or actually it says 'cant find directory' on hda1. I have a c: and a d: drive in XP. The third partition is a recovery partition thats hidden by acer (manufacturer of the laptop).

Any ideas?

best regards,

f.
foekker
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 5:45 pm

RE: Suse 9.2 64 bit from HD install - cant mount hda1-3 vfat

Postby nelz » Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:03 pm

The x86_64 directory you downloaded should be placed in the suse directory you copied from the DVD. This means that if you caopied all the relevant files form the DVD into C:\suse, the downloaded directory should be placed in c:\suse\suse.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

RE: Suse 9.2 64 bit from HD install - cant mount hda1-3 vfat

Postby foekker » Sun Apr 10, 2005 5:42 pm

Don't think I copied the suse\suse directory. Maybe thats the reason. I'll try coping that too and put the directory there.

Should we wait then with the mounting problem and see if it'll work first? I'll try in the meantime.

thanks

f.
foekker
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 5:45 pm

RE: Suse 9.2 64 bit from HD install - cant mount hda1-3 vfat

Postby foekker » Mon Apr 11, 2005 6:51 pm

Nope didnt work. Had forgotten to copy as mentioned above, but it didn't help. The installation program still halts with a red ugly box saying it can't find the installation files and that it will enter manual install. There I can start the 'start install or update' where I select source 'hard disk' and then hda1-3 appears all tagged as 'vfat'. By slecting one I get to enter the accused directory, upon which the program responds 'unable to mount hda2' or 1 or 3 respectively.

What to do what to do...

The folder is placed on my C:\ drive as mentioned above and the HD is a ntfs disk under windows XP.

help!
foekker
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 5:45 pm

RE: Suse 9.2 64 bit from HD install - cant mount hda1-3 vfat

Postby nelz » Mon Apr 11, 2005 10:22 pm

Can you post a listing of your c:\suse directory? It sounds like you may still have something copied to the wrong place. It is possible that NTFS is causing the problem, I tested this procedure on a FAT partition, but I doubt it.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8497
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK


Return to Magazine and coverdiscs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest