URGENT HELP

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

URGENT HELP

Postby linuxgirlie » Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:31 pm

Ok, builders shut of the power and though I have ups's on Joshua they didn't seem to work, all my other servers shutdown and booted up perfectly.

Basically Joshua boots up, until it gets to where you would normally see the nvidia splash screen and then login. But instead you get a black screen and at the bottom in white text(I have put in text as I don't have a diamond or pie or square icon on my keyboard:

<- -..MI="diamond icon"L}"Pie Icon".I"Square Icone" m-

Now I have tried ctrl alt F2 for console and it just sits there and does nothing. All services are up and running students can get to thier work if its on Joshua and I can get to all of his shares.

He is running MDK 10 ....I know I know I should update, but when something works it works!! and in a school you tend not to get the time to update all the time. My gut feeling is to check Sal to make sure he has backed up correctly and start again, but it is such a problem as it means yr 9 and 10 will have no work.

I really think this is the end as I can't get a console...unless I use the MDK boot disk?!?

Any ideas!!

Desperate Network Manager!!!!

Jo :shock: :shock:
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

RE: URGENT HELP

Postby Nigel » Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:35 pm

I get something like this on my AMD-64 box at home whenever there's a power glitch.

Can you get to Joshua from any other machine using telnet or ssh ? If so, log in and do a clean shutdown. Turn the power off completely (switch off at the PSU and at the wall). Wait 2 -3 minutes, then do a normal power-on.
Hope this helps,

Nigel.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Postby M0PHP » Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:38 pm

Boot up knoppix or mandrake recovery console (if it has one) and run a check on the disks. Providing it is a journalling fileystem you should be okay though :? Dont know what else to suggest except entering interactive startup and see if you can get a console login at all.

EDIT: Or what Nigel said :lol:
User avatar
M0PHP
LXF regular
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK

Postby linuxgirlie » Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:40 pm

Thanks for the replies, I really don't want to give up on him to quickly, seeing as its Linux its seems a cowards way out to give up and re-install!!

I'll give these a go, and post back if I'm still stuck.

Jo
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

Postby linuxgirlie » Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:05 pm

Ok, Cold boot didn't work, so I will try a check, I might also try to boot in safe-mode as I have an option to in the lilo, to see if this does anything.

If anyone else has any ideas I would be grateful!!
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

Postby nelz » Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:43 pm

What about SSH? I always have SSH running from startup, as it provides a safety net if something like this happens.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8577
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Flea » Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:44 am

Its sounds like its got to be a disk/fs problem or an X problem, Its probably a corrupt filesystem in which case do what M0PHP said. On the other hand if its an X problem you could try booting knoppix/mandrake recovery console/whatever and setting your X driver back to the default "nv" instead of "nvidia" see if that helps.

Other than that I got no idea. Never heard of anything like this before.
The question is, what is a mahnamahna?
The question is, who cares?
User avatar
Flea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

Postby linuxgirlie » Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:55 am

Flea if you live in Kent I'll buy you a drink you star ;)

Basically all the fsck came up clean, so I booted up damn small linux, mounted hda1 and edited the XF86Config file as flea suggested, rebooted and it worked!!

Cheers mate :D

One Very Happy Network Manager
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

Postby nelz » Tue Jun 07, 2005 9:08 am

Have you updated your kernel recently? If so, you need to reinstall the NVidia drivers.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8577
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Guest » Tue Jun 07, 2005 9:10 am

Yes, I have. So I'll do that now.

Jo
Guest
 

Postby Flea » Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:53 pm

Holy crap! Does this mean I actually solved a problem?! Cool, I feel important now! :mrgreen:
User avatar
Flea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: Ferryhill, Co. Durham

Postby linuxgirlie » Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:08 pm

Yep, and a major one!

Jo
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alex01UK and 1 guest