Asus M4A78L-M LE

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Asus M4A78L-M LE

Postby paulm » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:42 pm

Does anyone have any experience with this MB? I need to replace a dead Biostar board, and this one fits the specs fairly well, and comes in at a good price. The one thing I don't know about is the onboard NIC. Asus specify it as a 'Gb Atheros PCIe LAN', but don't specify the chipet used for the NIC.

I've used Atheros wireless NICs under Linux, but I know nothing at all about Atheros wired stuff. Is there support for it under Linux? Anyone know?

Anyone used one of these?

Paul.
paulm
LXF regular
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:53 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Postby paulm » Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:03 pm

heronfisher wrote:AMD 760G Chipset, Micro ATX, Socket A, FSB: 2600 MHz, Max RAM: 8 GB, DMA/ATA-133 (Ultra) x 1, Serial ATA II x 1, ATI RADEON HD 300.
pretty much the same specs as the M4A78L-M LE but it makes use of DDR3 memory (two DDR3-1800 slots), supports AM3 processors and has a DVI output.overall those who are in need of multimedia pc this is the right choice.


What's the right choice? Sorry, but there doesn't seem to be anythng attached in terms of a model or a make.

As to it being the right choice, the unit I specified is the right choice for my application (which is not multimedia). My concern is purely whether the Atheros wired gigabit ethernet has Linux support.

If I'm reading the above correctly, it has 1 SATA II socket? If so, completely the wrong choice - the M4A78L-M LE has 6, which is what I need.

:) Far from being a multimedia pc, this is for a home-built NAS, so DDR3 and DVI output are of very little interest to me....

Paul.
paulm
LXF regular
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:53 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:31 am

The Atheros L1 and L2 nics work fine under Linux. the L1 is gigabit and used on my Eee PC and my desktop's Asus motherboard, but you'd need to check which one this has.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8501
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby paulm » Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:26 am

nelz wrote:The Atheros L1 and L2 nics work fine under Linux. the L1 is gigabit and used on my Eee PC and my desktop's Asus motherboard, but you'd need to check which one this has.


Thanks Nelz. Unfortunatley, the Asus data on the board doesn't say what chip is used, just that its Atheros gigabit.

:) It may be academic. I've got an Asrock with similar specs but with a Realtek chip that I know works on its way. I know the Realtek works, but its not the best gigabit NIC around, so I was hoping that the Atheros might be a better option.

Paul.
paulm
LXF regular
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:53 am
Location: Oxfordshire, UK


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests