Music - What Do You Use?

Discussion topics, Linux related - not requests for help

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Music - What Do You Use?

Postby jase » Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:17 am

Just enquiring what your preferences are for buying/playing music on Linux?

I use to use ITunes and an Ipod classic 160GB, on MS. Started to use Rhythmbox but understand it doesn't sync with an Ipod.

So where do you buy your music from and what programme do you use (especially if you still use an Ipod?)
User avatar
jase
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:38 pm

Postby nelz » Mon Sep 13, 2010 8:07 am

I still buy a fair proportion of my music on CD and rip to FLAC and Ogg Vorbis files. For digital music, I generally use the Amazon MP3 store.

I listen with my android phone or a Sansa Clip on the move and MPD on my computer.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8532
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby crickster » Mon Sep 13, 2010 2:56 pm

Rythmbox does sync with the iPod (touch anyway). Just drag and drop from your PC to the device. It works very well.

I have ripped my entire CD collection to MP3 and have it on an 'always on' CentOS server at home. I have a logitech squeezebox for streaming and it sounds good (all my MP3 rips are 320).
I'b buy most of my MP3s from amazon but I do have an iTunes account, but as iTunes is basically apple formats, I try to avoid.

If I'm listening to MP3s while I'm on my PC, its just Totem that I use (default and does the trick on Ubuntu 10.04).
crickster
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 1:08 pm

Postby loebus » Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:47 pm

crickster wrote:Rythmbox does sync with the iPod (touch anyway). Just drag and drop from your PC to the device. It works very well.

I found it very slow at "Updating Index" for a long time... Though yes it does work

I use Rhythmbox on one laptop with DAAP-plugin and then play on another machine. Most of my tracks are MP3 >=192, though I do have a load of WMA tracks :-( some Ogg and FLAC and a few MP2s!!!

Been looking at a "Logitech Squeezebox" or simillar, that I can plug into a Hi-Fi...
User avatar
loebus
LXF regular
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:22 pm
Location: Here

Postby heiowge » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:05 pm

Every music track I have ripped / bought / acquired is on mp3, or a few on wma.

I use VLC on the PC and I use my sansa clip to play when I'm out.
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby loebus » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:20 pm

I also have subsonic installed.
User avatar
loebus
LXF regular
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:22 pm
Location: Here

Postby crickster » Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:23 am

loebus, I love my squeezebox. I can't reccomend it enough.
You're best to have an 'always on' server with it though (I just use an old 1.2 Celeron box with extra disks and CentOS with SAMBA/HTTP access).

Subsonic is installed on it too for remote access. Subsonic is probably the best FOSS software I have ever used.
Perfectly designed. Top marks to the developer, Sindre Mehus.

http://www.subsonic.org :D
crickster
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 1:08 pm

Postby pastychomper » Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:41 pm

I buy on CD (aside from occasional forays into the likes of Magnatune) and rip to Ogg, or sometimes mp3 since my 'phone lacks an ogg player.

For non-'phone playing it's xmms1 all the way, I try more recent players from time to time but keep coming back because it's just not broke.
pastychomper
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:54 am

Postby loebus » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:45 am

I tried to use DynDNS.com to setup my own domain name, but didn't seem work...

crickster can the squeezebox be connected to inputs on a hifi?
User avatar
loebus
LXF regular
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:22 pm
Location: Here

Postby crickster » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:29 am

Yip thats exactly how it works. Just left and right in to your amp.

Re: DynDNS - do you have an updater running on your system? (it needs to constantly update your external IP with their DNS db, unless you have a static.... but then why would you use DynDNS)

Also, you can't see it using your internal LAN PCs, try using your phone (ie 3G) to test it....
crickster
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 1:08 pm

Postby loebus » Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:24 pm

my IP is static, wanted DynDNS to set up domain, eg: Some-rubbish-music-here.dyndns.biz
from here: https://www.dyndns.com/account/services/hosts/add.html

But I don't think I'll bother, It's not as if I'll remote connect often.
Will have to keep a look-out for the squeezebox!

Would like to know how many people have bought this!:
http://www.logitech.com/en-gb/speakers- ... vices/3163
User avatar
loebus
LXF regular
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:22 pm
Location: Here

Postby Miko » Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:42 pm

I prefer to buy the CD's (hard to crash or delete a CD)
I rip it to ogg vorbis and play it on amarok ( by far to best music player even if I'm not using KDE )
I burn a copy (in K3B) and listen to that in the car because if it get's scratched I've still got the original. :)
User avatar
Miko
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:54 pm

Postby khakilang » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:11 am

I just buy cd and rip into mp3 and use Rythmbox when I want to listen from my computer.
khakilang
LXF regular
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:26 am

Postby chrishall57 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:22 pm

CD to mp3 then play with mpd/ncmpc.

If I want to play music on the go I copy to my phone or use mobbler.
http://thesignofthecross.blogspot.com
Trisquel 5.0 / Antix M11
chrishall57
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 1:13 pm

Postby jamie_tickner » Mon Oct 11, 2010 8:59 pm

gtkpod and i own a 120gig ipod classic
jamie_tickner
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:15 pm
Location: north west England

Next

Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests