Learning to use Windows 7

Help and discussion about non-Linux operating systems

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:51 pm

Well, Windows 7 Ultimate is the first OS, Windows, Linux or BSD, ever to fail with my KVM!
:(
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby heiowge » Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:53 pm

KVM?
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby Rhakios » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:01 pm

heiowge wrote:KVM?


eyboard ideo ouse switch?
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby heiowge » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:30 pm

:lol:
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby heiowge » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:30 pm

My trial of win7 came to an end. Tried to do something in windows that is easy in XP and Ubuntu and found I couldn't do it in win7 - burn a music CD. My copy of nero wasn't compatible. I don't have drive space for the XP that you can use here (15Gb I hear!) and I can't afford to update.

You can use windows to burn them (media centre if I remember correctly), but it wouldn't even look at files that were stored in locations other than the preset music folder.

So after about 10 days trial run, I went back to Ubuntu and only once gone back in the last 2 weeks. I didn't miss it. The damn thing crashed 3 times in 5 minutes. Probably having a tantrum that I'd neglected it. :lol:
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby Ram » Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:13 pm

Am sure Nero would run in XP compatibility mode. Basically it's a virtual XP machine.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:25 pm

Really, why bother?
I have not used , or needed windows OS at home for the last 3 years.
Linux runs on all of my hardware, does everything that I need, on all 4 of my PCs, media server, Kitchen PC, wife's PC, main box.

I use windows at work (I support Windows for our customers, it is my job) I also use it on my test rig for writing reviews and articles, but for nothing else. I even use Linux at work, on 4 servers and 4 workstations, for various tasks, in a mixed Linux/Windows/Mac environment of about 40 computers.
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby heiowge » Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:37 pm

Ram wrote:Am sure Nero would run in XP compatibility mode. Basically it's a virtual XP machine.


That's the 15Gb thing I mentioned. I hear that's what it needs to work.

But why bother committing such a huge chunk when K3b does the job better?
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby LeeNukes » Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:14 am

heiowge wrote:
Ram wrote:Am sure Nero would run in XP compatibility mode. Basically it's a virtual XP machine.


That's the 15Gb thing I mentioned. I hear that's what it needs to work.

But why bother committing such a huge chunk when K3b does the job better?


You tell us, you're the one that went back to Windows :lol: :twisted:
User avatar
LeeNukes
LXF regular
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: At the bar

Postby Ram » Sat Oct 31, 2009 11:22 am

heiowge wrote:
Ram wrote:Am sure Nero would run in XP compatibility mode. Basically it's a virtual XP machine.


That's the 15Gb thing I mentioned. I hear that's what it needs to work.

But why bother committing such a huge chunk when K3b does the job better?


I see what you mean, Virtualbox and your original XP disk would only take up a few gig.

Ok is there not the old type compatibility like in XP to run Win2k / win 98 programs with out the use of MS Virtual PC.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby jamie_tickner » Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:00 pm

After 30mins of windows 7 I exited vmware! I did not like it at all, visually it looked dated and it seemed to run laggy when virtualised even when I gave it 2 out of my 4 cores and 3gig of ram
jamie_tickner
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:15 pm
Location: north west England

Postby heiowge » Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:10 am

Another nail in 7's coffin.

I have an AOL email account (one of 9 different email accounts). In the last few days, whenever I access it from win7, it tries to login and hangs. After about 5 mins, it offers me a chance to use a simpler version. When it loads I get a popup error message. Closing it pops up a second, then again a third. After that you can look at your inbox (same 3 popups again), delete any bad messages (popups every time), view a message (popups), look at spam (again, more error popups).

I view AOL in Firefox in win7, it does this. I view it with Ubuntu, and it loads straight away. No hanging, no popups.
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby LeeNukes » Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:41 pm

heiowge wrote:I view AOL in Firefox in win7, it does this. I view it with Ubuntu, and it loads straight away. No hanging, no popups.


No script or AdBlock installed in one and not the other?
User avatar
LeeNukes
LXF regular
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: At the bar

Postby heiowge » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:44 pm

Adblock on both. Noscript on neither. I'd just stay in Linux, but I've been splicing MOV files and I only know how to do that in Quicktime Pro.
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby LoL » Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:40 pm

I can't remember ... Is it even numbered service packs that should be avoided or odd numbered ones? :wink:
Oontz <-- Click Here
User avatar
LoL
LXF regular
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:42 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Other OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest