Amiga OS - possible to install on x86 hardware?

Help and discussion about non-Linux operating systems

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Amiga OS - possible to install on x86 hardware?

Postby jarlath » Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:30 pm

Since seeing this video on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kSFf6LZU ... re=related

I'm wanting to install Amiga OS 4.1, but it seems that PC hardware isn't actually supported because the Amigas hardware architecture was so different.

Does anyone know if this is possible? Booting in 7 seconds and shutting down in 1 is pretty impressive. The system seems really fast too. I'm an Ubuntu user right now but I'm thinking either Amiga or Haiku will win soon.
jarlath
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland

Postby johnhudson » Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:53 pm

I understand Ubuntu will support this emulation
http://www.amigaemulator.org/
johnhudson
LXF regular
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:37 pm

Postby nelz » Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:22 pm

That's UAE, that emulates the classic Amiga hardware, which run OS3.x. I'm not sure it runs OS 4.x, which is completely different and was written for the PowerPC platform.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8552
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Bazza » Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:37 pm

Nope, period, (PPC)...

UAE is an emulator for CLASSIC OS3.x machines down to
OS level only.

The HW is SOOOO different from x86 to CLASSIC that
even this can`t be emulated.

Assuming OS4.1 could be "PORTED" <- note inverted
commas the peripheral HW may not be compatible
with the native HW so is not a goer for the developers...

It is blisteringly quick though on its native HW...
I`m a member of LAG, (Lincs AMIGA Group), and one
of our guys has it as his full user OS and it is breathtakingly
quick... Puts a new dimension on responsiveness...

HOWEVER I use WinUAE all the time and Amiga Forever,
(maybe AMIKIT too but I have never used it),
produces a superb starting point for getting into the
Classic machines and their feel. Again HW emulation
is a non-starter but everything else is getting so good
now that there is no need for me to use my A1200......

I use WinUAE almost daily to STILL develop on and do
final tests on the said classic A1200...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby Bazza » Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:14 pm

Hi Amiga lovers...

Take a look at this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSOZOzbJqGw
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby jarlath » Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:19 pm

That's true, but I'm actually interested in a native install. Sorry, I should have made that clearer in my initial post. But I won't get the 7 second boot up and 1 second shut down from emulation. I'm looking for a complete migration here.
jarlath
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland

Postby jarlath » Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:26 pm

Apologies - when I last posted, only one reply was displayed for some reason.

Anyhoo.. thanks for all the replies. Bazza, thanks for clearing that up. The website doesn't list x86 as supported, but I needed to hear it expicitly. And by the way, great vid. Paul Daniels and Debbie couldn't have done a better tease ;)
jarlath
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland

Postby Bazza » Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:30 pm

Hi jarlath...

> Bazza, thanks for clearing that up.

No probs matey.
Sadly Hyperion decided on PPC only but even then
it still rocks although the machinery is outdated...
Not sure what the market is these days for a
diverse commercial OS though...

It would be interesting to know if there are still
people on here who use the AMIGA "platform" in
any guise at all...

> And by the way, great vid. Paul Daniels and Debbie
> couldn't have done a better tease ;)

He he, but it`s way, way cool though. :)

BTW, I printed an error in my upload.
WinUAE can emulate all standard classic AMIGA OSs and
configurations, not just OS3+... HW is OOB still though...

My error and you can slap me next time you see me... ;o)

I just use standard OS3+ under emulation...

If you can give WinUAE a try, you`ll be surprised at the
results...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby M-Saunders » Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:44 am

Bazza, have you tried AROS?

http://aros.sourceforge.net

Whenever I visit my folks I dig out my old A1200 and play around. Surprisingly most of my old floppy disks still work. One day I want to get hold of Devpac and discover the world of 68K asm. I'm sure it's a lot nicer than x86 :-)

M
User avatar
M-Saunders
LXF regular
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:14 pm

Postby jarlath » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:55 pm

I'm running Ubuntu, but there is a UAE for that so I'll try it out. It was pretty sluggish last time I tried but according to what I've read in the Ubuntu forums, it was just that version of UAE or one of it's dependencies that was causing the problem so it could well be sorted now.

Aros looks very interesting, I'll definitely give that a whirl. I'm very impressed with Haiku, but it's not quite ready for what I need yet. The audio system has to work very well as I use my laptop as a backup when I'm DJing at weekends. But Haiku booted in 10 ten seconds and shut down in about 2. It's responsiveness was equally quick so I'm hungry for a new desktop experience now :)
jarlath
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland

Postby Bazza » Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:33 pm

Hi Mike...

> Bazza, have you tried AROS?

Yes several times but only on this notebook and
my quad core heap.

Sadly it is not stable enough yet.

I have seriously considered "porting" <- note inverted
commas, to AROS but until I can guarantee the platform
to be stable then I will stay clear, as I `bang` the HW
a lot...

I suspect it will evolve to be as good as WinUAE
is now.

I use WinUAE Version 1.5.3 as 1.6.x has taken a
backwards step in PAL-NTSC compatibility...

I have to bow to the developers of WinUAE though,
they are a clever bunch to be able to get such a
close resemblance of the original platform; HW permitting.
Oh, I wish I was that good at coding...

And yeah, 68K Assembler rocks... :)
Use DevPac2 as DevPac3 has all the Enforcer areas blocked
out...

Now for jarlath...

> I'm running Ubuntu, but there is a UAE for that so I'll try
> it out.

Crikey, I don`t know how long ago that was but even
with my 2.66GHz P IV knacker it wasn`t slow by any
stretch of the imagination...

The problem with the Linux is that its version is of UAE
is 0.8.2x which is a little old. However it was still pretty
stable to use and certainly not slow.

AF 2005 auto boots into a Knoppix core version of UAE
by default, IF booting via CD. Dunno about current versions
of AF though...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby jarlath » Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:03 pm

Lovely, I thought AF was windows only from all the screenshots I'd seen online. I might give it a try. One review said you can boot to a usable desktop in just a few seconds if you install to the HD.

I'm very tempted ... :)
jarlath
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland

Postby Bazza » Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:29 pm

Hi jarlath...

> One review said you can boot to a usable
> desktop in just a few seconds if you install
> to the HD.

From a Windows XP desktop on the dual core
notebook WinUAE boots in 15 seconds from `cold`.

Softbooting takes 11 seconds...
73...

Bazza, G0LCU...

Team AMIGA...
User avatar
Bazza
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Loughborough

Postby jarlath » Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:20 pm

Thanks Bazza, they're very nice times. I'm going to have to try that out. Perfect project for the dark evenings. If I can get a functional desktop out of it I'll be verrry happy.

Bazza wrote:My error and you can slap me next time you see me... ;o)


I'm actually just over the sea Bazza so I can't take you up on that myself, but I might get someone to call over to you in a taxi or something? I'm sure there's a LINC group on facebook I can get in touch with. Just an idea.. since you offered and all :D

I'll actually be in Chesterfield next week but I doubt I'll get a chance to attend any of your meetings. I checked out your LUG site. Very fair and generous code of conduct there - fair play to you all.
jarlath
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: Galway, Ireland


Return to Other OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests