newbie cant scan - now i can

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

newbie cant scan - now i can

Postby inva » Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:00 pm

I'm complete novice with Linux! Just loaded Suse 9.3 but i cant seem to get my scanner to work. Canon N650U. When i run Kooka and select preview nothing happens. Any help please (dont be too technical)

Plugged the USB cable direct into the PC instead of the hub !!!!
thanks to those who offered help now i have to try and connect my camera.
Last edited by inva on Thu Jun 16, 2005 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
inva
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:51 pm

RE: newbie cant scan

Postby Rhakios » Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:51 pm

Have you tried to configure it in YaST first?
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

RE: newbie cant scan

Postby Guest » Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:37 am

Thanks Rhakios
Have done that but I will try again maybe I haven't done it correctly.My m/c is at home and I'm in work, I'll try this PM.
Guest
 

RE: newbie cant scan

Postby linuxgirlie » Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:19 am

I would use SANE, its really really good, you need to install the backends and the frontends, it found my canon straight away and is really simple to use.
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

RE: newbie cant scan

Postby Rhakios » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:36 pm

Indeed, it should work with SANE as they show complete support
http://www.sane-project.org/sane-mfgs.html#Z-CANON
YaST should have installed the necessary sane libraries, if they weren't already, it can't do any harm to check, then install the xsane front-end and try it with that before giving Kooka a go.
The only problem I occasionally have with my Agfa scanner is that if I let it go to sleep, nothing will wake it, so I just have to switch it off (I use multi-socketed extension leads with individual switches on each socket, so I have no fear of switching everything off), wait a few seconds then switch it on again.
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests