Ive been approched by a telemarketer

Comments, suggestions and questions about Linux Format magazine and the coverdiscs

Moderators: ChriThor, LXF moderators

Ive been approched by a telemarketer

Postby godofthedevil » Tue Nov 08, 2005 5:05 pm

has anyone been called up from "CTC marketing" about discounted linux format mags does anyone know if this is genuine.. i was a bit worried that they knew my details but still wanted to know my card details.. i didnt give my details of course but i want to know if they are geniune before i give them my details their website is www.ctcmarketing.co.uk and left me a tel number 0208 541 277

User avatar
LXF regular
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 5:00 pm
Location: Oxford

Postby shifty_ben » Tue Nov 08, 2005 5:26 pm

When I try to open that address I get redirected to easily.co.uk, so personally I wouldnt recommend giving them any details, it sounds like soemone has seen your details on here and then got more from elsewhere, Might be worth giving them a ring though, and saying something along the lines of I was told I could purchase cheap processors with my credit card from this number, if they then turn round and say yes you can then chances are theya re phishers
User avatar
LXF regular
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:56 am
Location: Ipswich

Postby M-Saunders » Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:51 am

CTC Marketing is a telemarketing agency for Future Publishing, that contacts subscribers within their renewal cycle, so it's all OK. (I can understand it seeming a bit odd as they don't have a real website!)

User avatar
LXF regular
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:14 pm

Return to Magazine and coverdiscs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests