[ANSWERED] If I ''sudo login'' should I get root?

Discussion topics, Linux related - not requests for help

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

If I ''sudo login'' should I get root?

YES!
1
50%
NO.
1
50%
Don't Know.
0
No votes
Donut Care.
0
No votes
AN Otter. Please specify below.
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 2

[ANSWERED] If I ''sudo login'' should I get root?

Postby Alex01UK » Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:07 am

Not will I get root, should I get root?
tia aha, from: Alex.xx
Chrome OS: Samsung ARM Series 3 Chromebook, 32bit ARM Ubuntu 12.o4 HFCE.
64bit Windows 7 Home Premium, 64bit Ubuntu Studio 14.o4, 32bit Mint 17 MATE.

''I am what I am, because we are what we are.''
User avatar
Alex01UK
LXF regular
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Scarborough, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Re: If I ''sudo login'' should I get root?

Postby Alex01UK » Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:43 am

Alex01UK wrote:Not will I get root, should I get root?
tia aha, from: Alex.xx


'buntu 14.o4 logs in with normal user access priviledges for the user you logged in as. Is this the same for all distributions? Pleese post your results here for me.

ie

CTRL F2
login
sudo login
startx
Chrome OS: Samsung ARM Series 3 Chromebook, 32bit ARM Ubuntu 12.o4 HFCE.
64bit Windows 7 Home Premium, 64bit Ubuntu Studio 14.o4, 32bit Mint 17 MATE.

''I am what I am, because we are what we are.''
User avatar
Alex01UK
LXF regular
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:31 pm
Location: Scarborough, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Postby nelz » Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:56 pm

Of course you should, if that's what the system administrator has decided you should be able to do. He/she decides what you can and can't do with sudo.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8504
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby lok1950 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:50 pm

Fedora uses policy kit to disable login to a graphical desktop for root and has for about six years now,there is no documented way of doing it.

Enjoy the Choice :)
User avatar
lok1950
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:31 am
Location: Ottawa

Postby nelz » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:46 pm

Are you sure they use PolicyKit for that? Fedora uses systemd now. Anyway, it's a good policy, there is no need to run a desktop as root, it is just adding insecurity for no benefit.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8504
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby lok1950 » Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:14 pm

They may well use systemd but when they first implemented it only policy kit was around IIRC but I have a feeling that it is now integrated into GDM as the no root GUI was a Gnome.org idea part of there enterprise friendly policy,as you stated desktop root is a real security headache in a corporate enviroment.

Enjoy the Choice :)
User avatar
lok1950
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:31 am
Location: Ottawa

Postby nelz » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:26 pm

They also disabled Ctrl-Alt-Backspace so you couldn't log in as root in a VC and run startx.

Moved to Discussion, this is not for Help.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8504
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK


Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest