Dual installation W7 & LM12 - W7 won't boot

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Dual installation W7 & LM12 - W7 won't boot

Postby jbh911 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:54 am

LM 12 installed in dual boot configuration with functioning W7. However, although W7 appears in the selection screen it won't boot from there.
I've followed the advise in the LXF 133 page 44 Troubleshooting FAQ as part of Perfecting multi-booting topic re this very issue - and it doesn't help. Are the details of that article all correct?

I have W7 is at /dev/sdb1 and LM12 at/edv/sdb5. What do I need to do to get W7 booting?


8)
jbh911
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Victoria Australia

Postby Mayhem » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:49 pm

Booting W7 and ... ? I have found some linux flavours dont play nicely, but most can be easily fixed.

Do you get a menu to choose from ?

Try boot into linux. edit /boot/grub/grub.cfg (I can hear pitch forks a-comming...)
Find your W7 entry and try changing up or down a disk number and see if that works. I've found that the numbers/letters are sometimes misleading, depending on what OS is reading them at what time.
Mayhem
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:12 pm

Postby jbh911 » Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:07 am

Thanks for the suggestion Mayhem. Will see how that goes.

:D
jbh911
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Victoria Australia

Postby nelz » Wed Sep 12, 2012 7:56 am

What does "won't boot" mean? Does anything happen when you select W7? If so, what? What messages, if any, do you see?

Please post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.cfg, using code tags to keep it readable.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8521
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby jbh911 » Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:14 am

Got it sorted - can't recall the detail.

Thanks for the suggestions.

:oops:
jbh911
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Victoria Australia

Postby Ram » Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:32 am

jbh911 wrote:Got it sorted - can't recall the detail.

Thanks for the suggestions.

:oops:


Was that too much Fosters and 4X :wink:

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby jbh911 » Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:45 am

Too much red!



:D
jbh911
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Victoria Australia


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest