internet connection

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

internet connection

Postby ghostattack » Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:40 am

Hi,
i was wondering if there was anyone who could give me an answer to one of my MANY linux - related problems?

I don't know how to setup internet connection on mandriva. Or if my modem is even compatible.
In the hardware menu the modem shows up under Unknown/Other.
It has Agere Systems PCI Soft Modem. which is correct, but when i try to setup internet ( not that i really know what i'm doing) it says that the modem is not connected or that the modem is busy.
does anyone have any idea if it is compatible? or is it that im doing something wrong? Or that theres something that i'm not doing at all, that i should be doing?
Please help!
ghostattack
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: somewhere i'm not.

RE: internet connection

Postby ollie » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:13 am

hi ghostattack,

Software modems are notoriously hard to get configured in Linux. The following two HOWTOs may help:

1. http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Linmodem-HOWTO.html
2. http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Modem-HOWTO.html
It is much easier, and a slight performance increase, to use external serial port modems.

Alternatively, broadband ADSL modem/routers are much better (if available in your area) for Internet access as you only have to configure the ethernet connection.

Good luck, I hope you get it working.
User avatar
ollie
Moderator
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Bathurst NSW Australia

RE: internet connection

Postby nelz » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:49 am

You need the slmodem driver. Open a terminal and type

Code: Select all
su
[enter root password]
urpmi --test ftp://fr2.rpmfind.net/linux/sourceforge/m/ma/mathdev/slmodem-2.9.3-2.i586.rpm


If all looks OK, repeat the last command without '--test'.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8518
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby ghostattack » Thu Oct 13, 2005 1:22 am

thanks for the info.
I downloaded the slmodem driver, but it just seems to be a lot of kword documents.
The read me file commands don't work, with the above command the first bit " urpmi --test " went ok, but when i typed the other part it said " not found"
soon i am getting broadband so it may be better til wait til then.
ghostattack
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: somewhere i'm not.

Postby nelz » Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:15 am

The code has been wrapped in my previous post. Everything after you enter your password should be on one line.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8518
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby ghostattack » Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:58 am

nelz wrote:The code has been wrapped in my previous post. Everything after you enter your password should be on one line.


OH! :roll:

I will try it again, sorry, i must come across as really dumb!!
It's because of the monotony of Micro$oft products!
ghostattack
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: somewhere i'm not.

Postby nelz » Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:03 am

It was the fault of the formatting, not you. Typing exactly what you saw would not work.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8518
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby ghostattack » Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:06 am

i tried it again and all on one line, but it said failed to find it.
Does this mean i'm buying another modem? :D
ghostattack
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: somewhere i'm not.

Postby nelz » Fri Oct 14, 2005 9:45 am

ghostattack wrote:it said failed to find it.


What said? What did it fail to find?

That's not the most helpful error report I've seen...

...nor the least helpful either :(
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8518
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby ghostattack » Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:54 am

Sorry My other post wasn't very thorough.
This is what came up:

...retrieving failed: curl failed: exited with 6 or signal 0


unable to register rpm file
installation is possible

But it said installation is possible when i mucked up before and put it on 2 lines.
ghostattack
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: somewhere i'm not.

Postby nelz » Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:32 pm

That indicates you were unable to download the file. No idea why, because you haven't posted the part of the output where it actually failed.

The "installation is possible " part is clearly wrong.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8518
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby ghostattack » Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:20 am

nelz wrote:That indicates you were unable to download the file. No idea why, because you haven't posted the part of the output where it actually failed.

The "installation is possible " part is clearly wrong.



That is all that came up. directly before the 3 fullstops on the line above, it only had a copy of what i typed:

ftp://fr2.rpmfind.net/linux/sourceforge ... 2.i586.rpm

I tried again but this time without --test and it said this file is already installed?
ghostattack
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: somewhere i'm not.


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron